Resurrecting a vintage fur

Tomorrow is the wedding of two lovely friends… so today I’m trying to get myself prepared.
As it’s a Christmas wedding we won’t be able to float around bare armed with just a scarf or cardigan in case it gets chilly (not that I do so much floating myself!) …. and most of my coats aren’t really very weddingy…. so I’ve dug out one of my old vintage fur coats…

20121228-165131.jpg

to be honest it’s the only fur I’ve still got that will fit me… it felt huge when I bought it in my early twenties and I think I made a few alterations then…
so I’ve let it out a little again and had to do sooo much fixing… it was originally handmade I think, out of lots of little pieces of fur and lined with silk. So now it’s all very fragile with some pieces of fur coming unstitched…

20121228-165841.jpg

It’s been pretty laborious and my fingers are sore (it’s a bit like sewing thin leather) but I’m almost there.

Fingers crossed it’ll hold out for the day… and maybe I should start seeking out a new vintage fur… I’ve fallen back in love with them again I think :)

Leave a Reply

